Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Five Food Groups Series

Whether it's the rich aroma of a tender steak cooking on the barbeque, a warm loaf of freshly baked bread, or the first slice of mango in summer, there's nothing quite like the taste, texture and variety offered by fresh food.

To help choose foods with the right mix of essential nutrients, the Australian Healthy Eating Guidelines recommend basing your diet on the Five Food Groups. To stay healthy, it's recommended you eat a certain number of serves from each of these five groups every day.

Thanks to the Woolworths website, I'm going to do a little mini-series on the Five Food groups that we should all be using. I say the collective "we" but really, the finger is definitely pointed at ME!!!!

1. Vegetables & Legumes
2. Breads, Cereals, Rice, Pasta and Noodles
3. Fruit
4. Milk, Yogurt & Cheese
5. Meat, Fish, Poultry, Eggs, Nuts & Alternatives

So on Friday, I'll start with number 1.

No comments:

Post a Comment